A trip to the car booty

Decided to go to a car boot sale today.  I haven’t been to one of these in ages and the one we chose was huge,  reputed to be one of the biggest in the country.  I have no idea if it is or not,  but it seemed like we had walked for miles by the end of it.  But hey it paid off, just look at what I picked up…img5-011.jpg A box I hear you say,  but look inside….

img5-013.jpg

Full of treasure! Lots of lovely old buttons to sort through, two pairs of scissors, lots of needles and thread, and a small black dog keeping watch over it all.  I had to have it, and before I knew it, I had parted with £8 and tucked it under my arm, feeling very pleased with myself.  We carried on rumaging through the rest of the stalls, and for just £2, I added some pottery to my bag.  I do like a bargin, when ever I feel at a low ebb, I take myself off to the local charity shops and immerse my self for an hour or two in old books, bric a brack and clothes,  and before I know it, I have generally forgotton what was bugging me and started focusing on new found wonders.img6-151006-002.jpg

The rest of the day was pleasantly spent with my hands in the good earth (or bags of John Innis no2) potting up pansys for a bit of winter colour. img6-151006-003.jpg

4 responses to “A trip to the car booty

  1. I know what you mean – thrifting is one of the best forms of therapy I know of! 🙂

  2. I know what you mean – thrifting/flea marketing/car boot sales, aka- ‘treasure hunting’ is one of the best forms of therapy I know of! 🙂

  3. I would have melted with happiness if I’d found that box, sewing boxes are like time capsules, they are another woman’s history – I like that they seem to get handed on or bought by other women, to be treasured. I wonder what scenes these sewing things would relate?

  4. Oh my, I am so envious of that sewing box. I would have snapped it up too. It’s delightful.

Leave a Reply

