A New Year

Happy New Year to you all.  I do hope eveyones holiday was just as they wanted it to be.  We had a lovely time, visiting people and some times being at home spralled in front of the telly, stuffed with chocolates.  Did anyone else see the latest adaptation of ‘Wind in the Willows’ on New Years Day, the one with Matt Lucas.  I thought it was wonderful and thoroughly enjoyed it. 

I want to show you one of my pressis, this is from my brother and sister in law,  when I unwrapped it, I was speechless and the tears welled up, I love it so much.

img15-301206-022.jpg

Apologies for the rubbish photo, but it was really difficult to get a picture without loads of reflections on the glass.

The drawing, of the artists daughter, is called ‘Marjorie Sulking’ and is by Mabel Alington Royds.  It was drawn in the 1930’s.  My brother found it on ebay and had it framed for me. I think it is one of the lovliest presents I have ever been given. 

It also reminds me of this little person…

http://mollychicken.blogs.com/my_weblog/toys/index.html

6 responses to “A New Year

  1. Happy New Year to you too! I missed the Wind in the Willows on New Years day, I really wanted to see it as I loved it as a child, never mind, hopefully it’ll be repeated. Love the picture, you have a very thoughtful brother and sister-in-law!

  2. That is a fabulous gift, indeed. Amazing how just a few lines make such statement and show such emotion. I loved Naughty Ruby when I first saw her and you’re right, there is a similarity.
    We get BBC America here but they haven’t shown “The Wind in the Willows” yet. Something to look forward to.

  3. What a perfect little drawing. These minimalist, perfect gestures are sometimes my favorites. What a great find, and gift!

  4. Sounds as though you had a wonderful holiday dear Secret Fairy and that drawing is an amazing gift. I hope we will connect more as time moves forward…
    Love,
    Lisa

  5. hello joy,
    i don’t have a certain pattern for the sock. it is kind of freestyle. just take a thick yarn and a general sock pattern. the cuff is p2, k2.

  6. Thats a lovely little picture what a nice thought of your brother

Leave a Reply

