A tale to tell

I think that those wonderful blog fairies have been using their magic, because I have to tell you what happened last night  after I had put the post up about my SSOF gifts, I carried on visiting various blogs that I have on my favourites bar and came across a Norwegian blog http://norwayneedles.blogspot.com/, which then led me to another Norwegian blog http://www.posidriv.blogspot.com/, which I couldn’t read, but it had lovely pictures and also a long list of other blogs, so I clicked on a couple that sounded like they may be English and then I thought, be adventureous, try another Norwegian blog, (I love Scandinavian style) and my random click led me to ‘Karna’   http://karna.sprayblogg.no/.  A blog filled with beautiful photographs of someones home and of all the things that special to them. Then as I scrolled down through the posts, I noticed various plates hanging on the wall, my interest rose.  At this point, I have to tell you that I am originally from the Potteries, Stoke on Trent.  I grew up with pottery all around me, in its many shapes and forms and this was mainly because my father was a pottery designer.  You can tell what is coming can’t you, yes, low and behold, as I scrolled down through the posts, suddenly there was one of my fathers plates staring at me from my computor screen.

bilde_806_1170709313.jpg

I couldn’t believe it, the same plate as I had on my corner cupboard.   I carried on and there was another one.

bilde_2147_1166770380.jpg

I had to send her an email to tell her that they were designed by Dad.  But everything was in Norwegian, so I just had to guess, and keep ny fingers crossed that I had clicked on the right things.  Within minutes I received an email back from her, in very good English (thank goodness).  I then emailed a photo of Dad in his studio at Enoch Wedgwoods (Tunstall) and pictures of one his paintings and some of my plates on my dresser, and so  a new bond was formed between two people, who didn’t know of each other minutes before, in different countries, and who I am sure, will sit back and think ‘Oh my, this internet thing is really something’.  

img21-060207-046.jpg

I wonder what Dad would have made of it all.

19 responses to “A tale to tell

  1. I have just read Karna`s version of this, and I think this is a nice tale! Your father made some beautiful paintings, really! Karna showed some of your paintings too, I think. Wonderful!

  2. My goodness that is just so awesome! I too collect the beautiful china your father made! 🙂 I totally love them!

  3. I`am in shock! This is amacing.
    I just read Karnas blog. And she said the world is so smaal , and I have to say I agree.
    Alomost everything Karna have bought in theese things she bougt from my shop:
    http://annasrom.shops.no
    Simply beacause I love your fathers Work .
    I hope it is ok that i link you?

    And it so sad to hear that theese porcelain is selling bad i England, here i Norway I think finnaly the Renncanse has turned in.

    Wow, I`am so impressed!
    So long Anniche

  4. What an amazing story, and what a coincidence;) In good times of sharing beautiful work and collections, I would say this is faith… I am a big fan of his work too, and it is so nice that YOU can see the apprication of his work in Norway, and Scandinavia. Enjoy your week and new knowledge:)

  5. Wow, that is such a sweet story. (I found this because the reference to my blog turned up in Bloglines).
    I have some red plates like those in my cabinet that come from my grandparents, I’ll have to check later if it is the same pattern!

  6. What a truly amazing tale and it just confirms my belief that the globe is getting smaller and smaller through blogging. What was once a rarity to ever meet anyone from another country – is now a click away and for various reasons a bond is formed. There had to be a reason you were rolling along only to find this person, I just don’t know what it is.
    Oh and you received such lovely gifts below.
    I have been to that school house from the Birds but it is now a private residence. It’s in the small, charming town of Bodega Bay. It’s up the coast from here in a beautiful area.
    and one more thing, I agree with Vallen that your art should be cards and/or illos. Your art is amazing!
    XOXO

  7. This really is an amazing, and, I think, touching story. I read about it in Karna’s blog. I love the patterns and colours, what a wonderful peace of work your father did!

  8. Wow! I read Karnas blogg and she linked to you! This is an amazing story! and I also like your painting verry much! ;0)
    Anita

  9. I just read Karna’s blogg. Fantastic story. I love the china! -beautiful!!! you must be so proud of your father! I liked the paintings you do, too. Have a nice day.

  10. Good things are surely in store for you my Joyous friend!!

  11. What a wonderful post, it just goes to show “what a small world” we all live in. By the way some of your Father’s designs are displayed on my friends dresser!
    Oh and I have just posted your Sharing heARTs angel, along with another prize that I was lucky enough to win. Thanks again, she is truly lovely, the wholw family like her.
    Carolyn

  12. How absolutely delightful…I love things like this…this would have made the artist in your dad so proud!!!!

    Hope to hear more

    Chamara

  13. Each new day leaves me grateful that through the sharing of words and photographs, the connections with women around the globe are getting stronger and stronger like some giant web joining us together…the story of your dad’s plate designs is proof positive that there’s no such thing as coincidences. These are women we were meant to meet.

  14. Hi again!
    I’ve checked my red plates and they are indeed the same pattern as yours and Karna’s. But they may be a copy, since mine say “Woodland”, Unicorn Tableware, est.1835 under. It also says something about dishwasher and microwave(obviously not antique), hand engraving and underglaze decoration. Even though they might not be original, it’s so nice to know the story of the pattern! Mine are at least 30 years old, might be much older, don’t know. These “Willow” and other toile like patterns still sell pretty well in reproduction in Norway, esp. the blue ones.

  15. wow, how fun! I have plates like this too, but not from trent. great story, thanks for sharing it and making me smile – and thanks for your visit in my blog. 🙂

  16. I have what appears to be the same blue plate that you have displayed on your blog! It says Lochs of Scotland and Loch OICH on the back. I live in USA….Minnesota in farm/prairie land. Yes, small world!

  17. Hello. I just saw a comment by you, in ‘jujulovespolkadots’… concerning Joseph Campbell. I so love that man.

    Please don’t stop with just the video you saw of him. Please seek out more of what he wrote. Espcially his personal views. Which aren’t all that easy to find. He never wanted to be a Guru so he didn’t do ‘do as I say’ writing. But I sought and sought and finally found much. I have so much gratitude to him.

    ‘MN’

  18. Ah, he would have been astounded, I think! What a lovely story, and more proof that the internet is just such an amazing thing!

  19. What a lovely post. So must have been so thrilled to see those plates. Just imagine there must be so many people out there that have a bit of your family in their home – intriguing thought.

Leave a Reply

