I’ve been tagged!

Leanne of la-la-la illustration has tagged me, to reveal six things about myself.   Hmmmm where shall I begin….

1.  I studied illustration at Eastbourne art college xxx years ago, I loved living by the sea.  Recently I found out that the beautiful old building that had housed the college had been demolished and replaced by flats.  So sad.

2.  One of my first jobs on leaving college was to illustrate this….

I went on to work for clients such as WH Smith, Hamlyns, Scholastic, Laura Ashley, DC Thompson  and Oxfam.  Mainly greetings cards, educational books and a little pottery design.

I loved it.

3. My artistic streak comes from my dad,  He was a pottery designer and artist, Sadly he died while I was working on The Secret Garden in 1979.  But he left me this….

img70-290208-064.jpg

In our house it was always know as ‘the Vermeers head’.  My dad made it in 1954, the year I was born.  As it is in 3D, you can see that she is wearing two pearl earrings!

img70-290208-058.jpg

He was incredibly prolific.  I have it in mind to one day create a blog/website about his work.

4.  Just as my dad did, I tend to paint in the living room in the evenings while I am watching the TV,  I do have desk space upstairs but I prefer being with the family, and as I am so disorganised and untidy I can’t get near my desk anyway!

5.  Off the arty theme, I am the owner of a gorgeous little dog called Mabel, who is a Lucas terrier, there is not many of them around and I had to wait ages to get her.

img-69-020208-014.jpg

6. I don’t drive on motorways,  they terrify me, I much prefer to travel on A and B roads to get somewhere, you see so much more.  A few years ago I took the boys down to Cornwall from Lancashire, we travelled overnight without putting one wheel on a motorway, we saw foxes, badgers and deer and more rural England than you could shake a stick at, wonderful.  The journey was very much a part of the holiday, just as it should be.

I think that’s it for now, I am now supposed to tag six more people, but I am going to opt out and will leave it open for anyone else who wishes to join in.

p.s. Happy (leap) birthday to all who are celebrating today! 

12 responses to “I’ve been tagged!

  1. Hi Joy!

    Just read your post! I love the girl with the pearl earring(s!) your dad made, you can see where you get your creative talent from! I was laughing when you wrote how you have a desk but you prefer to paint in the living room – I’m exactly the same! If I’m working on something I’ll usually end up perched on the settee with the T.V on! (I’ve had many a ‘paint spilled on the furniture’ disaster!!) 🙂

  2. I am just delighted to visit everyday and find new wonders. When I was in England, every day we picked a new destination and get there without ever using a freeway (motorway?) I love seeing that bit of your beautiful country.

  3. This ceramic head is wonderful, so alive.
    Motorways can have their uses, especially when you need to cover a lot of ground – as we do when we leave our pottery village where we’re working in central France and need to visit family in Cornwall and Scotland.
    Our pots are quite different to yours but I appreciate very much the sensitivity of your lovely work.

  4. Hi Joy –

    Thanks for your recent comments – I enjoyed reading your blog, and my wife and I are reassured that we are not the only artists that find our easels creeping into the living room.

  5. Joy, just had to comment on the girl with the pearl earring – it is BEAUTIFUL! wow! did you ever read the book by Tracy Chevalier? It’s a great novel and it made me want to create and paint! 🙂

  6. You are the second person I’ve met who does not drive on motorways…I am the other one! I’m terrified of the buzz of the motorways and, like you, much prefer A or B roads. Now I don’t feel alone anymore 🙂

    I love your dad’s pottery..sooo clever to be able to make that Girl with the two pearl earrings 🙂

    I’ve never met anyone who illustrated books ..that’s fantastic to see your work in print 🙂

  7. What a talented artist your Dad was ~ the girl with the pearl earrings is stunning.

    I love The Secret Garden ~ I was trying to click on the photo to enlarge it to see what edition it is. I’d love to know so that I can look out for it.

    Thanks fro sharing some interesting facts with us. Enjoy your weekend.

    Marie x

  8. I hate driving, motorways the lot, so I totally understand, but I do enjoy being a passenger (car with my husband, exploring around our county, buses, trains and boats). You see so much more.
    These days I walk and bike where ever possible and have seen so much more.

  9. WOW— your work is FANTASTIC!!! 🙂

  10. Mabel is a such a darling.
    We can certainly see where your artistic streak comes from, that head is beautiful and I’m almost sure I’ve seen those mugs in one of my friend’s houses.

  11. Happy Easter to you, Joy 🙂

  12. To have such an artistic Dad must have been very special and for him to leave such a treasure is wonderful.

    I love the idea of staying off the motorway, as you say that make the journey part of the holiday. I’m going to do that next time we travel.

    Happy Easter to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

