This fabric makes me smile….

january-09-005Because its has arrived at my home, a lovely surprise form this dear lady, I had already ooohhhd and aaaaahhhhd about it when I first saw it on her blog, little did I realise that it was being parceled up, popped in the post and being sent to meeeee!    Just the thing to brighten up one’s day and my morning cuppa!

january-09-007

As you can see, the teacosy did not come alone, it arrived with these gorgeous tag scrap thingies which I love.

january-09-021

Sorry, I don’t know the technical term for these, but they look great and my head is starting to whirr with ideas for them.  If you have not discovered Vallen’s blog yet, you are in for a treat, this lovely lady with her wit and warmth and amazingly prolific creative outpourings, will have you giggling and laughing out loud, reaching for your craft basket to make itchy fingers busy and making you feel very hungry with her delicious culinary skills. 

Other things to make me smile this week has been discovering the work of this lady,  I found her work on Flickr first of all, and was enthralled by these faces,   such sweet simpilicty with so much expression, and then I discovered that she has opened an Etsy shop.  Well, a girl has got to treat herself hasn’t she, and so sometime soon, this gorgeous little creature will taking up residence at the Williams household!!!

Last week I had to rustle up at short notice a  presi for a former collegue who has got an exciting new job across the border in Scotland,  I hunted round my studio (very difficult if you could see the state of my studio, its a disgrace) for something suitable and you know how it is, everything I found I wasn’t happy with or I didn’t like,  and then I came across one of my little painted boxes and an Ikea frame at the same time and bingo, I took the lid of the box and framed it.

january-09-003

 I was so pleased with it I may well do it again.  Now has anyone got any ideas for what I can do with a lidless box!

Oh and inbetween cruising around cyber space, I am still working on my crochet.

january-09-023

This is so relaxing, it should be on prescription!!

6 responses to “This fabric makes me smile….

  1. Oh, your bag is coming along beautifully. I’m on my third pillow covering. It looks as though Lucy’s crochet inspiration will soon cover the planet.

  2. They look like blue birds of happiness to me.

    Marie x

  3. What a happy package. 🙂 So many creative, generous folks out there!

  4. Love the tea cosy..so pretty and vibrant. The box lid looks like a painting now…very fetching. …and I love all the pretty colours in your crochet work too. I guess I just love colour 🙂

  5. The framed lid is inspired!!! Not only is it beautiful, but the image is perfect for someone who will be traveling.

    (The tea cozy is darling — I have one too.

    As for what to do with a lidless box — nestle tea bags inside, use it to keep your jewelery in overnight, keep post-it’s in it near the phone for jotting down messages, make it the base for a square pin cushion. How’s that for a start.

    Jenny

  6. Pingback: jamjar

Leave a Reply

