100th post …. plus a give away!

Goodness, here we are at my hundreth post on my blog.  It has taken me some time to get here, (infact I starting writing this post days ago!!) not being an every day blogger, more a now and again blogger.  I began way back in October 2006, not knowing where it would take me, and I have ‘met’ so many lovely, facsinating, creative in so many ways people, it has been, and still is a wonderful journey through an amazing community of people.  emails have flitted through cyber space, parcels have flown around the world, such is the special bond that is created by like minds meeting through sharing stories and art and gardening , I could go on and on, but I guess you get the jist of what I am saying.  This is a special place where I can talk, when I can think of something to say, where I can share my garden, my animals, my art with others who do exactly the same.  Magic! 

The last few weeks have seen me busy busy busy,

June 09 225

finishing off and framing three paintings for this years Holmfirth artWEEK

June 09 206

I finally delivered  the paintings queueing up with all the other artists who were taking part.

June 09 219

It is a wonderful exhibtion to be a part of, and to visit, there is so much to see every year, sometimes I will visit several times just so I can take it all in.  The Exhibition is only on for one week starting Sunday July 5th.  On the Monday to Friday it is open from 10 am until 10 pm and becomes quite a social occasion with lovely cakes on offer in the tearoom.  So if you are in the area – West Yorkshire (Last of the Summer Wine country) it is well worth paying a visit.

Now then, I have been tagged!! by One Pink Goose.

What is your current obsession?  keeping cool, salads, soduko.

What are you listening to right now?  The Archers on radio four.

What do you think of the person who tagged you?  Cathy has a lovely blog that I thoroughly enjoy visiting, beautiful artwork by herself and other artists that she showcases.  I have been ‘introduced’ to some wonderful artists through Cathy’s blog.

What is your favourite quote?  This one is on a fridge magnet that I have, I don’t know who it is by.  “When it rains, look for rainbows, when it is dark, look for stars”.

Do you admire anyone’s style?  I am not really a follower of fashion or style, It tends to be jeans and favourite t shirt for me.

Favourite movies?  So many to choose from, “Into the West”,  “Edward Scissorhands”,  “Loch Ness”,  “The Shipping News”,  “K Pax” to name just a few.

Favourite Books?  All time favourite is “Precious Bane” by Mary Webb.

Favourite Fruit?  Dried apricots for nibbling, mango juice for drinking.

Favourite Smell?  Scented flowers on a warm summer evening – honeysuckle, new dawn rose, sweet rocket.  Oh and hot buttered toast!

What do you look forward to when coming home after being away?  A mug of tea in my favourite mug and a walk down the garden with my dog and the two cats to see what has been happening.

What word do you overuse?  I have not the foggiest idea, you would have to ask those around me!

That’s it, If you want to join in the tagging game then feel free.

July 09 016

Okey dokey, let us get to what this post is all about, and that is a big thank you to all of you who have wandered here and paused awhile.  I would like to offer you a little  gift, a summery painting, it is painted in acrylics, my usual medium on a 5″ x 7″ canvas, initialled on the front and signed on the back by me.  It is of nowhere in particular but inspired by holidays by the sea.  I love harbours, all that bustling going on, jolly little boats coming and going and the cry of the gulls, mmm love it!  So this little painting is up for grabs, all you have to do is leave and comment, say hello, tell me where you like to go on holiday if you like and then all your names will go into a hat and I will get one of my boys to pick a name out. easy peasy!

July 09 020

 Happy blogging!!  Joy x

26 responses to “100th post …. plus a give away!

  1. congratulations on your 100th post (i haven’t taken the blog leap yet so I’m impressed). Also congrats on your exhibit – I’m sure it will be wonderful. Your paintings are just great!

  2. Good luck with the exhibition. I really admire the way your paintings are so serene.

  3. Congrats on posting 100! and good luck at the exhibition – love the lady and the dog in a boat 🙂

    Listening to The Archers, nibbling dried apricots, The Shipping News, mug of tea and checking out the garden after a holiday – love all those things too. Looks like I’ll have to check out Precious Bane.

    Celia
    x

  4. You took the words right out of my mouth! I am only on my 79th post but plan to do a 100 post giveaway as I have just recieced a beautiful give away prize from Jane and the Happy Crow. I thought tit was about time I gave others a chance to win something. I read the words you wrote at the top of your post and I agree whole heartedly, I just Love Blogging and the wonderful people who take the time to share their lives, art, crafts, gardening, photos…..etc. So Please put my name in the bag. Your beautiful painting reminds me of our last holiday to Cornwall in May, The harbour looks a bit like Polperro-except it was raining when we went!
    Love
    Lyn
    xxx
    PS we are popping over to Holmfirth on Saturday to look around the exhibition!

  5. Lovely 100th post Joy and love your artwork. So simple and serene. I enjoyed reading your “tag” list too. Good luck with the exhibition. Your giveaway painting reminds me of a holiday in Cornwall a couple of years ago. Love the seaside.

  6. These are lovely paintings – hope the exhibition goes well and you sell all. My favourite place for holidays is Criccieth on the Lleyn – the birthplace of my Mum and Grandmother. A lovely quiet place but we only go there for the day.

    Precious Bane – I love Mary Webb and have all her books – the Norman Hepple illustrations are wonderful!

  7. Congratulations on your 100th post!
    Having grown up in Maine near the ocean (we now live in Chicago), a perfect vacation for me has to be at the beach. I would love my name to be thrown in the hat for your lovely painting!

  8. I think your three new paintings will be snapped up at the artweek exhibit. I have so enjoyed getting to know you over these several years. I hope a hundred more posts are in the offing.

  9. I love the dreamy painting of the girl sitting on a bench, she looks like she’s waiting for someone….
    100 post! Phew!
    Good luck for the exhibition.

  10. Hi, I love your paintings, especially the lady in the boat with the little dog as it looks a bit like my Jack Russell.

    I love little fishing villages too, especially Portpatrick in Scotland.

  11. Congratulations on 100 posts. I agree blogging is a wonderful way of finding like-minded people, they can be hard to find sometimes in the real world.

    My favourite holiday is Bryher, the Isles of Scilly, I love it that much I named my daughter after the place. It’s expense and difficult for us to get to, but we are going back next year. Hurrah!
    I love anywhere that’s quiet and rugged so my 2 other favourite places that we go to often are the Peak District (not really a holiday as it’s on our doorstep) and Angelsey.

  12. Good luck with you exhibition! Your giveaway painting is beautiful, it reminds me of a holiday we had about 12 years ago on the north Yorkshire coast when the children were young. We visited lovely places like Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay.

  13. hello joy
    Your paintings are absolutely delightful, I love them very very much.
    For my holidays i like to be beside the sea, a small fishing harbour with little beach would be ideal. In fact, please can i stay in that little white cottage with the blue door in your painting?? Reminds me of Mousehole. Gorgeous.
    Love to you
    Lucexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  14. Hi I found my way here via Monica’s blog. I love your artwork and especially the lady with the dog in the boat. Your painting reminds me too of visits to Cornwall. I pretty much love anywhere on the coast of the UK where its in its natural state or is a small fishing village. If I had to choose one place it would be Tobermory on the Isle of Mull. Good luck with the exhibition.

  15. Congratulations and thank you for the 100th post of a great blog. Love seeing your beautiful artwork and glimpses of your garden and your life. If I could go on holiday, I would choose Italy, as I’ve never been there. The travel bug is strong with me, though, and I have a hard time choosing just one place 🙂

  16. Congratulations on 100 posts ~ I popped over from Attic 24. Your little seaside painting is delighful and I’d love to be included in your giveaway :O)

  17. Congrats! Hope your show is going well. I sure wish I was close enough to see your pieces in person. I adore your work.

    Seaside is wonderful. Ocean-sides are one of my very favorite places to visit.

  18. Hello sweet heart, thanks for entering my give away and letting me know you have one! Sooo cute! I hope I`m lucky! 🙂
    Blessings and good luck to you too!
    Cheers…Moni.

  19. Wow, I love your blog. It’s only the second one I’ve ever read and I just found it today. Your art lights a lovely little fire in my heart. 😉

  20. Hello, just found your blog and have to say you’re incredibly talented.

    I’m not sure if the deadline for your giveaway is up yet, but if not please enter me: I love to go on holiday to the Isle of Wight.

    It’s got everything – short boat ride (as opposed to being stuck at an airport/motorway), dinosaurs, lovely beaches, wonderful walks, harbours, great places to eat….I could go on!

    Debx

  21. I love the harbour painting , it’s very reminiscent of many holidays.

  22. Oooh, nice blog! I wasn’t going to follow any more but I’ve added you to my list, will be back later for further reading (after tea!). Well done on your 100th post, hope I make it that far too!

  23. Congratulations on your 100th and such a lovely blog too! Your paintings are beautiful and I would love to win one!
    My favourite holiday destination has to be to Cornwall, in particular Marazion where you can walk across to St Michaels Mount at low tide and watch dolphins from the shore. We are going in August!!

  24. only recently found you!! glad to meet a fellow archers addict. i love the colours you’ve been using

  25. I have just found you via Andamento – what lovely pictures! I have my holiday sofa just outside my back door, where I can take a quick holiday whenever I fancy a break (there’s a picture on my blog) – it’s as far as I will be going this year!

    Pomona x

  26. Congratulations on your 100th post! I only have time to blog once a month nowadays though I began my first in november 2006, just after you. I don’t know how many I’ve written…

    I like to holiday in the Orkney Islands, Cornwall, Venice, Florence. When our children were small we spent most summers exploring Martin Mere, Ormskirk, Irton Moor and York as we were all into nature and wildlife and history.

    Your painting epitomises our sea-side visits to Ilfracombe and Whitby. Happy painting 🙂

Leave a Reply

