sometimes….

times passes by and then all of a sudden you realise that is is weeks, nay months since you have spoken to friends, friends who were so sweet as to take the time to leave wonderful comments on old black and white drawings, comments that made my heart swell and smiles came to my lips. I am sorry that I have negleted you, but I have not forgotton you.  Life has just sort of taken over recently and it has not put me in the frame of mind for chatting, but I am trying to shake it off now, and look towards the festive season.

There has been a little painting taking place in the evenings….

when the day quietens downs and the curtains are drawn against the dark night,

I sit down and open my pallet of colours and find a brush and small canvas,

and one by one

angels have appeared and calmed my mind.  I had hoped to put these in my Etsy shop in good time for Christmas, but I am now wondering whether to leave it until the new year, as time seems to be running away and I am still tweeking them now and again.  Christmas seems to be creeping up quite fast now,  A huge (for us) Christmas tree arrived yesterday and is standing in the corner of the room waiting for adornment, it smells wonderful, of pine resin and forest,

I could almost imagine a little red squirrel appearing from within the branches.  Can you see – it even has fir cones on it, magical!  Speaking of forests, this is another creature that is in the process of appearing on a canvas….

Thank you to all those who left such wonderful comments on my last post, they all meant so much to me,  I would love to find my way back into illustration, at the moment it all seems a way off, but hopefully one day ….

6 responses to “sometimes….

  1. I love your paintings. The subject matter is so simplistic but has so much emotion in each frame. Very nice work. Thanks for sharing and a very Happy holiday season to you.

  2. Gorgeous angel paintings – especially the first two.

    I can see your cat prowling round the back of your tree! Our family cat used to climb the tree when we were little, he managed to completely knock it over twice. We thought it was hilarious but my Mum wasn’t too happy – I’d know how she feels now I’m the one responsible for getting it all put up and decorated. Ooops, I haven’t even bought it yet this year, must get organised…

  3. I adore your latest paintings! Look forward to seeing the new additions to your Etsy shop in the New Year. What a glorious Christmas tree too!

  4. I just came across your blog through Rose Hip and wanted to say i love your paintings! Especially the last one 🙂

  5. Such beautiful angels Joy. They are very special and more so at Christmas time. I hope 2010 is especially kind to you and you discover new creativity. Good luck with decorating the tree – looks like a good evening’s work there.

  6. I love your angels, Joy!…

Leave a Reply

