Happy New Year!

I don’t think I can remember a more wintery seasonal Christmas holiday than this has been weather wise.  Since the 19th December we have had snow on the ground here, apart from a couple of days just before new year when the garden returned to grass and twig, we have seen snow fall upon snow upon snow.

Journeys to work have been interesting and picturesque.

through spectactular scenery and snowy villages.

That was a few days ago, and since then it has snowed

and snowed

and snowed

It was a cold walk to the local shops today where we found milk and bread had already sold out,  children were being pulled along on toboggans with bags of shopping and there was a population explosion of snowmen.

Back home from our treck to the shops and the snow still came down.  This evening the snow eventually stopped for the time being.

It looks so magical from here where we are warm and cosy,  but do take care if you are out in it.

Happy New Year to all. xxx

9 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year to you too! All that snows looks glorious… but very cold 🙂

  2. That’s a lot of snow – and with steep hills too that makes for difficult journeys!

    Most of our pre-Christmas snow thawed and we haven’t had more since a sprinkling on New Year’s Eve and Morning. But the ground is rock hard and the roads icy. Snow forecast for the rest of the week (but it may miss us – who can tell?)

    Keep in the warm
    Celia

  3. Arhh snow! I love it-as long as I don’t have to go to work in it! The photos are great, it make everywhere look so pretty.
    Take care
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  4. ooooh, that looks so cold! We have had much less snow but our family live closer to the Pennines and it has been very difficult to visit. The countryside does look very pretty though, as does your garden.

  5. It’s fantastic isn’t it! You always get a few inches more han us, but I’ve been out with the tape measure and it’s 11″.
    I’m lucky that our local NHS trust has said everyone who can work from home is to work from home. Thankfully I had some leaflets I needed to do in my diary. I’ve told my boss I’ve been out building snowmen too, and said I’ll take time owing too but she says any work I can manage is great and not to worry about it.
    Our road is passable now, but it’ll take me a good half hour to dig the car out… and its started snowing again.
    When I can get out I’m going to buy a snow shovel (or 2) and a sledge. I’ve been saying since October I had a feeling we’d have a white Christmas and a lot of snow this year. It wouldn’t surprise me if we get more as the year goes on.

  6. Happy New Year, Jamjar 🙂

    I am glad to find someone else who has enjoyed the snow…beautiful photos 🙂

    Fancy seeing the wildlife I’ve captured over the past four weeks in temps of minus 20 degrees?

    http://ourlittlecornerofparadise.blogspot.com/2010/01/importance-of-finding-beauty-in-light.html

  7. Your snow looks lovely and festive. Ours is on the final thaw now and I think the rain over the next couple of days will see it away. I have enjoyed myself photographing it though.

  8. You are in paradise,here we are in hell !!!!! 🙂
    Your snow looks like heaven!!!!!I love snow!!

  9. I’m sure you must have realised by now that I just do a post once a month…so here I am to say hello again 🙂

    Each time I come I scroll backwards to look at all your lovely artwork…it’s such a long time since I sat down to draw or paint or do pastel work. Maybe that’s a little message to myself… 🙂

Leave a Reply

